Skip to main content
Skip to Content

TSSWCB Announces 2022 Conservation Award Winners

Each year the Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board (TSSWCB) and the Association of Texas Soil and Water Conservation Districts (ATSWCD) recognize and honor individuals who dedicate themselves to the conservation and management of renewable natural resources. These outstanding conservationists will be recognized during an awards luncheon on Tuesday, October 25, 2022 at Moody Gardens in Galveston.

The Texas Conservation Awards Program began in the late 1970’s to recognize conservationists and the vital role they play in managing Texas’ natural resources. The purpose of the program is to acknowl-edge, recognize, and honor individuals that dedicate their time and efforts to the conservation of natural resources.

The program provides an opportunity for competition and incentives to expand and improve con-servation efforts as well as the wise utilization of renewable natural resources. Categories recognized through the Texas Conservation Awards Program are: Poster Contest and Junior and Senior Essay Contests, Conservation Farmer, Outstanding Soil and Water Conservation District, Conservation Rancher, Friend of Conservation, Conservation Teacher and Wildlife Conservationist.

The subject for the 2022 Poster Contest was “Healthy Soils: Healthy Life.” Geraldine Rosales from Levelland and the Hockley Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) #129, was chosen as this year’s winner. The poster will advance to the National Association of Conservation Districts Poster Contest in December 2022.

“Healthy Soils: Healthy Life” was also the topic for the 2022 Essay Contest. Ryder Thompson, of Hart-ley and the Hartley Soil and Water Conservation District #152, took first place in the Junior Division of the essay contest. Riley Hagdorn, of Devine and the Medina Valley Soil and Water Conservation District #226, took first place in the Senior Division of the essay contest.

Below is a list of the 2022 Conservation Award Winners:
Conservation Farmer:  Ashton Raschke, Mitchell #207
Conservation Rancher: Bar J Ranch, Washington SWCD #348
Outstanding SWCD: Collin County SWCD #535
Conservation Teacher: Rosana Ryan, Kleberg-Kenedy SWCD #356
Wildlife Conservationist:  Kenny Bailey, Lower Neches SWCD #437
Friend of Conservation: Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service Kleberg-Kenedy Counties - 
Extension Service, Kleberg- Kenedy SWCD #356

"Protecting and Enhancing Natural Resources since 1939."

Back to top